Page 1 of 2 1 2
#181953 05-25-2014 06:10 PM
Alpaca Offline OP
"OCF Down Under, Kiwi"
"Above & Beyond" Member (500+ posts)
OP Offline
"OCF Down Under, Kiwi"

Seven days after end of RT now.I felt ghastly on the evening of Day 5 then woke on morning of Day 6 with the swelling down a bit and some of the dead skin sloughing away. Apart from hard swelling along my jaw and under my chin, my face looks kind of normal. Because I'm new to wearing a plate and find it uncomfortable at the moment I'm held hostage by that. Want to go and get the mail but too lazy to put my teeth in. The soreness and swelling inside my mouth have both subsided and it's a tiny bit easier to talk. Down to one Oxycodone am and pm and will soon be able to phase that out.

Taste? There's no real change of course but things don't seem to taste as horrible.

I've lost a LOT of fitness - even after surgery I was able to walk into town but now a 10 -15 minute circuit is enough. I get very tired at times. Nobody expects me to do anything so that's okay. I might make myself a little schedule to get my fitness up.

1996, ovarian cancer surgery + cisplatin and taxol.
September, 2007, SCC of left lateral tongue. Excision.
October, 2009 recurrence in scar tissue, T1NOMO. Free flap surgery from left wrist - neck dissection. 63 year old New Zealander. No chemo, no RT.
February, 2014. New primary in left buccal mucosa. Marginal mandibulectomy, neck dissection, right arm free forearm flap. T1N0M0 but third occurrence and some areas of concern: RT started 8 April and finished 19 May.
Alpaca #181960 05-26-2014 10:26 AM
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)