Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
OP Offline

Hi all,

I am a 39 year old relatively healthy male and was just diagnosed with SCC. I had a cluster of nodes removed last week and they were sent to pathology. Came back HPV positive and cancerous - SCC.

I have a 2 year old boy and my wife is due with our second boy in 2 weeks. There is no other option than cure.

My ENT is scheduling me at the local cancer center to be see by an oncologist and radiation therapist. I assume this will happen after aPET scan. We have good insurance, and my outlook is usually to be aggressive. Mistakes are costly, so I am looking for any advice. I want to see my boys grow up.

I'm new at this so forgive me for any faux pas!

Ray

SCC Right Pharangeal wall Stage IV HPV+
T1-2N2bMO
Dx 10/12/2012
Father for the second time to 2nd beautiful boy 11/2/12
Port Implanted 11/20/12 - no feeding tube
Tx - 11/26/12 35 IMRT Rads 5X/week Weekly Cisplatin
Last treatment 1/15/13
"Grind it out, I will be cured as I have too much to live for"
Gold Member (200+ posts)
Gold Member (200+ posts)

Glad you found us, sorry your here. Your story is just like mine. See my signature line. This is curable stay positive, learn as much as you can, and find a CCC. I am still new here but this site has been a life line to me.

Last edited by Hockeydad; 10-18-2012 07:14 PM.

Hockey Dad
43, No smoke, Small BOT HPV+16
8/30/12 Biopsy found SCC in Lymph node (removed)
9/19 DX 4a T1N2aM0
10/1 TX 2x Cisplatin 35 IMRT 70 gry (Done 11/15)
PEG tube in 11/7. Out 1/4, Back at work 2/4/13
PET 2/13 Clear, 10/16 all Scopes Clear, 4/14 Chest X-ray Clear, 5/14 Abdominal ultrasound Clear, 8 yrs clean!!!
OP Offline

Thanks Hockey Dad -

I played in college so I plan on seeing my boys on the ice as well!

This all happened so fast!

Be well,
Ray

Ray

T1-2N2bMO
Dx 10/12/2012
Last treatment 1/15/13
Senior Patient Advocate
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)
Senior Patient Advocate

Ray,