Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline

This is my first time on a message board so hopefully I can figure out how to find my way back here. I am a OC survivor for 4 years now and am thankful to be alive but so tired of people judging me because I still suffer pain & problems from radiation damage to my spinal cord & thyroid among other things. The radiation took all my teeth 2 tears ago and I need two more operations before I could get teeth. I am on disability & medicare that covers nothing so I will probably never get teeth which is SO DEPRESSING! I have been battling depression for years and my friends & family don't seem to understand or care and act like I should just be happy to be alive... I am so embarrassed to go out in public with no teeth & am pretty much a hermit now & very lonely... Help???

Last edited by ChristineB; 02-09-2012 09:20 AM.
"Above & Beyond" Member (500+ posts)

Hi, Sheila
welcome to the forum - glad that you found us, sorry that you had to. Hopefully, someone will be able to help with suggestions on manuvering Medicare to get the help you need on the tooth situation and the depression. Having had a recent run-in with depression due to my auto-immune disorders, I have a great deal of sympathy to other sufferers - and also understand how much better it is possible to feel once you get some help.

It sounds like it's hard for you to feel positive about yourself, but I think you're brave and wonderful and have a lot to offer the world. I don't know if you are an animal lover or not, but if you are, you might see if you could volunteer at a cat or dog shelter, or help at a theraputic riding center. The volunteers at these places won't judge you, and the animals won't care - they need love and attention. If transportation is a problem, you might try talking their volunteer coordinator - maybe share a ride.

Take care and hope to hear from you soon.
Maria

CG to husband - SCC Tonsil T1N2M0 HPV+ Never Smoker