Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#1446 07-29-2003 12:12 PM
OP Offline

Hello everyone! I am new to this message board. My father was diagnosed with tounge cancer about a year and a half ago. He did not opt for the operation, however they did take off the tumor on the bottom of his tounge,along with all his teeth in his mouth. He went through two treatments on chemo,which he did for a week straight while staying in the hospital. Also went for 35 days of radiation. Even though it has been a little over a year now...he still will only drink his Ensure. He did have a feeding tube, which they have long taken out. I keep trying to get him to try different things, but he says his mouth is just too dry to swallow. Has anyone else had this problem? And if so, do you know of anything he can do? Foods he can try, etc? He seems to have given up all hope of ever eating again. By the way, he is going to be 70 this month. Thanks for your help.

#1447 07-29-2003 06:01 PM
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)

Hi Bobbie, Yes the dry mouth can be an obstical but it sounds like you need to push him a little harder. Milk works well for me as well as coffee with a lot of cream in it. I can eat almost anything as long as I have plenty milk.

Also you can use a blender to grind up almost anything and make it into a smoothie type drink. Others may argue with me, but a diet entirely of "ensure" type drinks is not complete. He needs the benefit of nutrients found in fruits and vegatables V8 type drinks will help as well as protein foods. E-mail me if you want specific blender ideas (all tested by me smile )

Mark, 21 Year survivor, SCC right tonsil, 3 nodes positive, one with extra-capsular spread. I never asked what stage (would have scared me anyway) Right side tonsillectomy, radical neck dissection right side, maximum radiation to both sides, no chemo, no PEG, age 40 when diagnosed.
#1448 07-30-2003 12:22 AM
vb Offline
Supporting Member (50+ posts)