Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Gold Member (200+ posts)
Gold Member (200+ posts)

Hi Morgan,

It's great that the neck brace is so helpful for you. I'm so glad that it gives you some relief.

There are lots of people here who have experience with Erbitux. Hopefully they will chime in with some information for you. I have only had one dose so far and it was just two days ago, so I am far from an expert, but I'll tell you my experience so far. I had some nausea and vomiting the night of the infusion and had a very severe headache. The next day the nausea was gone, but the headache was still pretty bad. I am now on the second day after infusion and I feel just fine. I'm not sure my experience was typical though. My doctor said it does not cause nausea for most people.

Tracy - 33 at diagnosis
SCC right ventral tongue Dx 4/11.
T1N2M0
1st resection 5/11.
Bilateral neck dissection: 2 pos nodes
2nd resection w/graft 6/11.
Erbitux x 11 completed 9/11. IMRT x 30 completed 8/11.
3 month MRI and PET/CT all clear.
6, 9, 12 and 24 month post treatment MRIs all clear.
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
OP Offline
Contributing Member (25+ posts)

I've been told that surgery could involve removal of a third of my tongue, and I should be prepared to need speech therapy among other possible repercussions that, frankly, are worse options than radiation/chemo.

I really don't wish to go into all my personal medical history that would preclude surgery, but suffice it to say that I already have a heart condition and even the minor surgery to put a PEG in is going to be avoided if possible.

I realize this is a tight group of people who are like-minded, but I will proceed as I see fit, in coordination with my own team of doctors, whom I believe are all well-schooled and with the proper medical options and protocols designed for my particular situation.