Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Brian Hill #127959 01-17-2011 12:35 AM
"Above & Beyond" Member (500+ posts)

Hi Brian, Lymph node primaries can result from lymphoma which sometimes explains why there is a presentation in a cervical lymph node with no other tumor present. When excisional BX is done, then pathology reveals the type of cells present. In SCC-HN it would be squamous cells, in lymphoma, it would be lymphoma cells; other types of cancer, that specific type of cancer cell would be found in the lymph node. However, a SCC does not start in a lymph node--as live&love might be thinking. It must come from a part of the body lined with squamous epithelia. Lymph nodes are comprised of lymph tissue. I am not a medical professional, but I found out this information from doctors and from doing research on-line. smile

Ex-spouse MISDIAGNOSED with SCC-HN IVa 12/10. Tonsils out 1/11. 4 teeth out 2/11. TX Erbitux x2, IMRT x2 2/11. 2nd opinion-benign BCC-NOT CANCER 3/11. TX stopped 3/11. New doctors 4/11. ENT agrees with 2nd opinion 5/11. ENT scoped him-all clear 7/11. Ordered MRI anyway. MRI 8/22/11 Result-all clear.
Sandy177 #128044 01-17-2011 10:38 PM
OCF Founder
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)
OCF Founder

As a 25 year survivor of non Hodgkin's lymphoma, (likely a cascade event form exposure to defoliants) I can tell you that there are multiple other symptoms besides an enlarged painless node that accompany lymphatic cancers. You know well before you have some surface nodal presentation (most of them are buried deep within you) that you are genuinely sick. Since this forum is and oral cancer forum I won't go through the list.