Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#125384 11-29-2010 01:41 AM
OP Offline

Hi there ...

I am new to all of this. 58yo F. Was diagnosed w/SCC of inside lower lip. Stage I. Had a biopsy and 2 wks later they removed more tissue. Got a "Clear Margins". No additional treatment.

Also no predetermining reasons to have had it in the first place ... never smoked, chewed, no drinks for decades, no sun exposure, no HPV, nothing.

My 2 month checkup is Wednesday.

On Thanksgiving, I bit the side of my tongue a few times. So I looked at it closely. I swore it looked like the tongue tissue had a round area where I bit. Now it looks real pale to me.

Quite scared.

oldhippie #125385 11-29-2010 03:32 AM
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)

It is pretty scary for sure, but you have found the right place for the very latest information and to connect with others who have had similar experiences to share. Sounds like the diagnoses of Stage 1 was done early and that's a good thing. So often, there are no outward symptoms or pain connected with SCC. Between now and Wednesday when you have your check up, you could check the links on the main page of this forum at: http://oralcancerfoundation.org as well as the search areas there and on this page (upper right of this page) for specific topics. This may help you to get your questions ready for the doctor on Wednesday. Until then, it helps to keep busy with anything you like to do so that you can try and lessen the stress level. Let us hear how the check up goes.

Anne-Marie
CG to son, Paul (age 33, non-smoker) SCC Stage 2, Surgery 9/21/06, 1/6 tongue Rt.side removed, +48 lymph nodes neck. IMRTx28 completed 12/19/06. CT scan 7/8/10 Cancer-free! ("spot" on lung from scar tissue related to Pneumonia.)

Anne-Marie #125397 11-29-2010 07:05 AM
Senior Patient Advocate
Senior Patient Advocate

Oldhippie,