Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Supporting Member (50+ posts)
OP Offline
Supporting Member (50+ posts)

Overcoming depression

Depression is one of the most difficult issues a patient that had been diagnosed with cancer has to face. I am a physician who had been diagnosed with throat cancer four years ago and am writing this manuscript to share my personal experiences as a cancer survivor and a clinician. You can read my story and read my book on my experiences as a patient with cancer at my Blog: http://dribrook.blogspot.com

I am doing so hoping that my perspectives will assist other individuals who had undergone similar experiences cope better with their situation and hopefully gain insight into their lives. It is also presented to health care professionals who care for patients with this illness in the hope that by gain insight into the patients� world would be able to better assist them in their plight.

Coping with and overcoming depression is very important not only for the well being of the patient but may actually facilitate their recovery and may even increase their chance for longer survival and perhaps even ultimate cure. There is growing evidence in many scientific studies that there is connection between mind and body. Even though much of these connections are not yet understood it is well known by experienced practioners that individuals who are motivated to get better and exhibit a positive attitude recover faster from serious illnesses, live longer and sometimes survive immense odds.

There are so many reasons to become depressed after learning about cancer and living with it. It is a devastating illness to the patients and their families and medicine has not yet found a cure for most types of cancer. By the time cancer had been discovered it is too late for prevention and if the cancer had been discovered at an advanced stage the risk of dissemination and ultimate cure is significantly decreased.