Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#120192 08-10-2010 05:01 PM
crolsen Offline OP
OP Offline

Hi everyone!

I'm a brand new member here. I just had surgery to remove a squamous cell carcinoma from the floor of my mouth on July 21. The surgery was successful, The tumor was clean around the edges, and the lymph nodes were also spotless. Now, I'm trying to put my life back together.

I am married to a wonderful wife (13 years) and have three beautiful daughters (10, 7, 2). I am a musician. I play trumpet in a rock n roll band. I've also recently begun training to be a competitive powerlifter. All of this at the ripe old age of 47.

The decision for radiation therapy is entirely up to me. I'm kind of caught between the benefit of a few extra percentage points vs. the possible side effects and what that could do to my livlihood. My wife found this website. I'm glad she did.

crolsen #120195 08-10-2010 06:57 PM
Platinum Member (300+ posts)

Hi - I would say most people in our forum have received radiation and chemo treatments. It is extra artillery in this fight. My husband was one of the few who didn't have the treatment, just surgery, because, like you, his cancers (see my "signature" below - you can add one also) were all superficial (because they were caught so quickly), had clean margins, and were well differentiated, and his neck dissection pathology found no cancerous nodes. His have been in his cheek and on his gums, and one on his lip, all SCCs. He was never a smoker, no HPV (which they are finding in more cases of oral cancer now), but he does have leukoplakias and lichenoids. His doctor is monitoring him often, as lesions pop up every so often. This is just one person's experience. Others will tell you theirs also.
Now, without further adieu, welcome to the Oral Cancer Foundation forum! Where are you in Minnesota? Husband and I were born and raised in Winona and lived in the Twin Cities for many years after we were married.