Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline

My name is Deitra Cooper. I am a 41 yr old married (19 yrs) mother of 3, David 22...Brandon 17...Ashley 15. I was diagnosed with Oropharyngeal Cancer on 7/14/10. This has all been dropped in on me in a matter of 3 weeks. I'm terrified !! I am trying to find out anything and everything that I can about this. My treatments start Aug 9, 2010 and will be Chemo and radiation every Monday and the other 4 days will be radiation. I will do this for 8 to 10 weeks. If anyone has any advice for me please feel free to give it ....I am new to this and I have no idea what to do next.

Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)

So glad you're here, Deitra. You will find a tremendous amount of support and information from people who've had similar experiences to yours. Cancer is a scary thing to have to face but the more you find out about it, the better prepared you will be to get going on surviving this. I've been a caregiver to my son who is a survivor and his experience is dfferent from yours, but there are lots of compassionate and knowledgeable people here ready to answer whatever questions you have and I'm sure you will be hearing from them soon. The main page at http://oralcancerfoundation.org/ has specific information on diagnosis and treatment and is a tremendous help in being able to ask questions and get the answers you need. Please keep us posted and let us know how you are doing.

Anne-Marie
CG to son, Paul (age 33, non-smoker) SCC Stage 2, Surgery 9/21/06, 1/6 tongue Rt.side removed, +48 lymph nodes neck. IMRTx28 completed 12/19/06. CT scan 7/8/10 Cancer-free! ("spot" on lung from scar tissue related to Pneumonia.)

Senior Patient Advocate
Senior Patient Advocate

Deitra,

Sorry about the Dx but this site will prove invaluable during your Tx and recovery.

Where is your primary?

Were you a tobacco user?

Where are you being treated?

David