Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
"Above & Beyond" Member (500+ posts)
OP Offline

Wondering how others are getting along in thier careers post treatment.
I feel very very vulnerable at my job sometimes... and like people just think of me as some sort of freak. Its so hard! frown I work really hard and try and do my best possible work and get along with everyone and be as innovative and creative as possible but I feel more and more marginalized at times. I'm 36- I have to keep working for a lot longer. I am a graphic designer in the beauty industry ...its a competative feild and i work with all women who are just not very nice to one another sometimes.

I wish I could explore other options but I feel kind of stuck there- Who else would hire me without a tongue? God communication skills are always emphasized in every job description I read. Would I be able to get health insurance if there were a million and one chance I could get a job offer elsewhere?

Does anyone else ever feel like this? Feeling stuck.
Sometimes its so hard to feel confident.

Last edited by misskate; 03-25-2010 10:30 PM.

Tongue Cancer T2 N0 M0 /
Total Glossectomy Due to Location of Tumor

Finished all treatments May 25 2007
Surviving!!!

Just an observation here Kate, good communication skills does not necessarily mean verbal communication. Email, chat visual and other computer related forms are just as effective. My computer work has allowed me to work with some really amazing deaf folks. Up until a few years ago their communication was somewhat limited, but now by using computer communications, it has opened up a lot more opportunities.

Kevin

18 YEAR SURVIVOR
SCC Tongue (T3N0M0) diag 06/2006.
No evidence of disease 2010
Another PET 12-2014 pre-HBO, still N.E.D.

�Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. It matters that you don't just give up.�
Stephen Hawking
"OCF Canuck"
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)
"OCF Canuck"