Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
marma Offline OP
Senior Member (100+ posts)
OP Offline

Hi all,

I recently found out that I have gone undiagnosed with hypothyroidism for many years, while simultaneously my FIL who has undergone IMRT has developed the same problem. After reading a bit about it, I am shocked at how common people suffering with hypothyroidism are either undiagnosed or undertreated (even by endocrinologists) and thought I'd pass this along to you guys. Please feel free to share your own opinions/experiences as I'm still new to the topic but find it very important for cancer survivors to go beyond what their doc tells them and do a little extra research.

Is Your Hypothyroidism UNDERtreated?
Is undertreatment preventing you from feeling well?
By Mary Shomon, About.com Guide

If you're on thyroid hormone replacement, have a TSH level that's in the normal range, and are still having a range of thyroid-related symptoms, you may be one of the millions of thyroid patients suffering from undertreated hypothyroidism and can benefit from a discussion with your doctor about optimum TSH levels and thyroid drug options.

What is undertreated hypothyroidism? It's hypothyroidism at the cellular level that means you still have hypothyroidism symptoms such as fatigue, weight gain, depression, fibromyalgia/muscle & joint aches and pains, hair loss or coarse/dry hair, infertility and more --despite taking thyroid replacement and having a "normal" TSH level.

There are two reasons this can occur. First, some doctors believe that providing only enough thyroid hormone to get a patient to mid to high-normal TSH levels is sufficient. And second, the current standard treatment, levothyroxine (brand names include Synthroid, Levoxyl, Levothyroid, Eltroxin, Euthyrox) may not be enough for the majority of people to actually feel well, because the body also needs a small amount of the hormone T3 in addition to the levothyroxine in order to truly feel well.

TSH Levels