Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joel B Offline OP
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
OP Offline

Howdy all,
I posted this in a buried forum but I wanted to post this more visibly as I could use some advice.

I assumed that the entire time I'm on chemo-rad tx that I'd be covered under short-term disability.

My radiologist put "Not applicable" for "date patient was totally disabled unable to work". Being a programmer, I need my mental faculties and I have to admit, I have neither the brainpower right now nor the physical stamina to go to work every day.

Does anyone have any experiences with this?

TIA (Thanks in Advance)

Joel

Age 49, HPV 16+ SCC, T1N2bM0, Stage IV R Tonsil, 2 nodes, nonsmoker, lite drinker, 100 mile/wk biker, workout, play hockey, Tx:10/26--12/15/09, IMRT x35 70Gy, no surgery, Cis 1st rnd til some tinnitus loss after day 2, carbo next 3 wks, Peg in 3rd wk;still ate some solids 6th wk. 2012/05 Still Clean
Gold Member (200+ posts)
Gold Member (200+ posts)

My husband had an income protection policy (he is self-employed but would get payments from the policy if he was unable to do his exact job) and the waiting period for benefits began the day he began treatment. He is now back to work part-time so he gets a reduced payment. His medical oncologist was the most helpful re/ establishing that he could not work or needed to limit his work. It really depends on the nature of your job (and possible accomodations, consequences of making mistakes, and the nature of your symptoms). He is a psychologist and seeing patients when you're on fentanyl, have mouth sores, mucusitis, radiation burns, cant' talk and you might doze off would likely result in your patients needing more therapy!

Last edited by Sophie H.; 12-08-2009 02:55 PM.

Sophie T.

CG to husband: SCC Stage 4, T4, N1, M0; non-smoker and very light social drinker; HPV+