Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)

thanks for the heads up David, that is a good deal

Young Frack, SCC T4N2M0, Cisplatin,35+ rads,ND, RT Mandiblectomy w fibular free flap, facial paralysis, "He who has a "why" to live can bear with almost any "how"." -Nietzche "WARNING" PG-13 due to Sarcasm & WAY too much attitude, interact at your own risk.

jim,eric, hi its meanne here i had a partial glosectomy and neck dissection 7 days ago my diagnosis came at the exact time my inpatient and outpatient treatment for addiction to opiods was complete. i had enjoyed life for 130 days drugs free and then this scca came up like a kick in the ass. what to do? i knew i would have to start taking pain meds (opiods specifically) again. but how not to get hooked this time around. addiction is a very real disease and is nothing to be afraid of talking about with your medical teams about, becaue they will not bring it up. i am also a registered nurse and knew i was getting addicted when i was because i could not live without the pain meds vicodin,percocet specifically. i also loved the way they made me feel. when all of your waking hours (and sometimes your dreams too)are filled with thoughts of getting and having an ample supply are foremost in your mind you are probably already addicted. during your treatment is no time to start on a program. you must be at a place in your life that you can be completley free of any mind altering substances-this includes alchol. recovery is possible at the right time. iam just grateful that i have a very strong support group a faantastic sponsor and a husband wlling to give me my meds and not let me choose when to take them. i plan on beating this cancer and still have a strong recovery with my fellowshp in narcotics anonymous stronger than ever. i am not judging or diagnosing any one here just sharng my observations with my new family here at OCF