Posted By: patkers new and confused - 12-02-2009 07:19 AM
I am new to this. Have tongue cancer. Originally diagnosed 3 years ago and had surgery and radiation. Came back in Jan 2009. Surgery March 2009. Radiation again May/June 2009. Just had biopsy and it is back again. Scared, confused. Had 3/4ths of tongue removed in March. Don't want to lose more. Headaches prevent sleep. No matter which way I lay or even if I lay back in recliner I can't sleep due to headache pain. Any suggestions for sleep and/or help for what is ahead? Thank you.
Posted By: walknlite Re: new and confused - 12-02-2009 10:30 AM
You found the right place. I wish I could give you some suggestions, but I am just now starting my treatments and I do not know what is ahead. I do know that there is a lot of people on here that can help you out.

YOu may want to put some info about the type and stages in a signature so that we do not all have to ask. Just go to your profle under My Stuff and you will see where to put it.
Posted By: davidcpa Re: new and confused - 12-02-2009 01:22 PM
Pat,

You really need to make sure your treating doctors are aware of your headaches.

Have you had a recent PET scan?

Where are you being treated?

There are many here that have lost a significant portion of their tongue but I don't remember headaches like you describe being discussed.
Posted By: ChristineB Re: new and confused - 12-02-2009 02:22 PM
Pat

Welcome to OCF. Are you being treated at a cancer center? Has your doc prescribed anything you could take for sleep? Alot of people here have taken Ambien. I would talk to your doc about your headaches and let them know your sleep problems. Hope you get some relief soon.
Posted By: patkers Re: new and confused - 12-05-2009 06:46 AM
Thank you. Yes, recent pet scan showed a problem and a biopsy proved it was cancer. Likely the cause of the headaches. Now facing surgery to remove most/all of my tongue. Very concerned. Anyone been through this?