Posted By: rochelle Hello - 07-02-2007 10:56 PM
Hello, I wanted to say hello and introduce myself. I am a 31 year old cancer survivor. I am very new to this and thought I would try to speak to others that are going thru this emotional experience.I am not sure where to start. I was diagnosed with stage 3 cancer in December of 2005. I had 3 surgeries to remove the cancer and my tonsills. I did 6 months of radiation and chemo. It was the worst experence of my life. I am still in alot of pain and my body is not the same. I do not know anyone survivors and I am hoping thru this forum I can see light at the end of the tunnel. I just want to know that there is hope for me. God Bless :p
Posted By: August Re: Hello - 07-03-2007 12:08 AM
Rochelle, you are in the right place. You will find friends here, and people who have endured what you have, and people whose experiences are different but who still care about you and have good advice to give. And they will need support and information from you, too. You will have the chance to help someone else along the way. Stay here. You will have responses that help.
Posted By: Gary Re: Hello - 07-03-2007 12:20 AM
Hi Rochelle,
and welcome to the forum. I am a 4+ tonsil cancer survivor myself. It was a miserable expereince but I am doing pretty well today. I hope that you ultimately have the same experience. What kind of pain are you still having?
Posted By: Robroaster Re: Hello - 07-03-2007 06:08 AM
Rochelle,

We share the exact same diagnosis. Mine was right tonsil with 2 lymph node involvement. I too had a total of 3 surgeries including a modified neck disection.

In August I will celebrate 2 years cancer free. My Docs tell me that 80% of recurrances happen in the first 2 years and 90% in the first 3. In other words, there is reason for a bit of celebration at the 2 year anniversary (you are close).