Posted By: jen bea hello! Newbie here - 02-03-2007 01:07 PM
Hello,

my name is Jennie and I have a son of 41 years who has tonsillar cancer. I am here to see if i can get some questions answered
Posted By: jen bea Re: hello! Newbie here - 02-03-2007 01:16 PM
I forgot to mention that I am in the UK where the methods of treatment seem to be different. My son has had chemo and rad. and is fed by tube and developed an abcess in the tonsil bed, this has burst and the excrutiating pain he had been feeling has subsided, He has had a biopsy on the abcess and the doctors are being very pessimistic and are talking of an operation to remove the rest of the tumout. As yet we do not know if the abcess has live cancer cells. We will know on the 13th February.
Posted By: Stoj Re: hello! Newbie here - 02-03-2007 01:41 PM
Jen,

Welcome, please tell us more about the treatments he has had so far and then just fire a way with your questions.

Tim
Posted By: jen bea Re: hello! Newbie here - 02-03-2007 02:03 PM
Thanks for the warm welcome, Yim.

My son is fed by PEG and my ex.husband and I have taken over feeding him as it seemed that he was not getting (to me) enough nutrition. He was on Fresubin 7 times a day which gave him about 2000 calories if he had them all, there days when perhaps he would have only three if the pain during treatment got too bad. He has lost nearly 40lbs in weight. We cook fresh food for him constantly and to us he looks so much better than we've seen him for a long time. I am very interested to see if anyone esle has done this or have relied on pre-package liquid meals.

I hope I have posted this in the right place or should I copy this post else where.

thank you for your time and attention
Posted By: jen bea Re: hello! Newbie here - 02-03-2007 02:04 PM
oops! sorry Tim!
Posted By: Stoj Re: hello! Newbie here - 02-03-2007 03:19 PM