Posted By: CR33 New diagnosis - 05-03-2016 01:44 PM
Hello everyone. I am a 36 year old female that received a diagnosis of oral cancer. Yesterday. I had an abnormality found 9 years ago and have had 3 prior biopsy's that came back a severe epithelial dysplasia. Well, this one (4th growth in 9 years) came back as cancer. I am waiting a call from the doctor's office for when I will be scheduled for surgery to remove a portion of my tongue. While in surgery, they will determine the exact stage and the find out if a neck dissection, chemo, or radiation is needed. Interestingly enough, I work in healthcare and help patients with head and neck cancers. So, I'm really digesting this as a caregiver right now and not as a patient. I'm happy to find this site and look forward to the support that it can give me as I continue on this journey.
Posted By: Vanpaddler Re: New diagnosis - 05-03-2016 02:56 PM
Wow, I guess you must have a fairly advanced understanding of what could be potentially coming your way, compared to most of us who've been down this road before you. All I can say, is good luck with that staging diagnosis. Hopefully those TNM numbers are as close to 0 as possible, especially the N & M.
Posted By: ChristineB Re: New diagnosis - 05-03-2016 06:26 PM
Welcome to OCF, Cyndi! Im so sorry you are here as a patient. This must be especially difficult for you being that you work in the H&N cancer field already. What type of job do you do?

Dysplasia commonly returns when its removed. It doesnt always become cancerous. Im very sorry yours has! You are young so hopefully you will be better able to bounce back quickly after your treatments.