Posted By: DangeredMind Hello I am a newbie here.And I need help! - 02-15-2015 12:35 PM
Hello I am very glad to see such a forum where in people can share there experiences.Let me introduce myself.I am 25 year old male living in India.Please forgive me if my english is bad.Three years back my mother she started getting these white and red patches after she got a root canal done.For two years we did different treatment but it dint seem to go away.
Until last year until this dentist referred my mom to a dental college in india having a special division for oral cancer.I was really worried.But the doctor did a check up and she said there was nothing to worry about and asked her to take few medicines and apply one ointment.They din't care to do a biopsy,white patches disappeared other than that there hasnt been any change.She recently started getting cracks on her tongue(geographical tongue).This time also the doc did a check up and gave her oral medicines.the doc said its some kind of skin disease.I am really scared for her.Can this be anything else other than a skin disease?And why isnt the doc suggesting a biopsy for her?
Welcome to OCF. Im hoping you will not need our assistance for your mother. Since our forum is worldwide, we have a few members from India.

Im sorry but I do not know anything about the medical system in your country. If it were here in the US, I would suggest seeking out an ENT. In the US, ENTs are usually the best choice for diagnosing oral cancer patients.

There are many things this could be besides oral cancer. Please understand our group is made up of oral cancer patients and caregivers, not medical professionals so its not easy for any of us to be much help with diagnosing anyone, especially over the internet. One symptom you mentioned doesnt match how oral cancer represents itself. It does not come and go, a topical medicine will not heal a cancerous tumor.