Posted By: Shelby Recently diagnosed and ready to fight! - 12-13-2012 04:49 AM
Hi y'all! I'm Shelby, 19 years old and was diagnosed with stage 2 or 3 tongue cancer. I'm a nursing student at UK (well was I guess, taking the semester off for treatment). They don't know the stage yet because I'm doing my PET scan tomorrow. on the 27th I have a partial glossectomy and neck dissection. I'm really nervous I won't be able to eat normally ever again. They're taking little over half my tongue and replacing it with tissue from my arm and then skin grafting my arm. How long were y'all in the hospital for after surgery and how bad was it?
Hi Shelby! So nice to see your positive attitude. I also had tongue cancer (its been one year) and my life is pretty normal right now.

I didnt had the tongue replacement, just the removal of about 2x3 cm with primmary closure.

The thing that bothered me a lot was the NG tube 1 week after surgery. The neck dissection for me was a piece of cake.

Hope everything runs ok and keep us informed!
Posted By: tina77 Re: Recently diagnosed and ready to fight! - 12-13-2012 06:08 AM
Shelby,

I had almost the identical procedure. I was in hospital for 9 days, returned to work 3 weeks after surgery.

There was surprisingly little pain considering they cut open my neck, arm and did a skin graft from my thigh.

My speech is almost back to normal and I was eating solid food within a month of the surgery date.

The NG tube sucks, but is necessary, as is the tracheostomy tube. It's a good day when you get that out! The trach was in for 7 days, and by day 7, I had all 4 drains out, and only had the doppler wires left (they are connected to the "new" tongue to listen to the blood flow).

I was worn out, but all in all, not too bad.

Keep us posted and good luck with the surgery!
Posted By: PaulB Re: Recently diagnosed and ready to fight! - 12-13-2012 02:13 PM
I have no experience with a glossectomy, but good luck with everything, Shelby.