Posted By: Biskit New here - 03-26-2011 01:06 AM
Hi all! Im new to this, so bare with me, please. Back on February 28th I was diagnosed with Squamous Cell Buccal Carcinoma. I will be going in for surgery on March 31st (this coming Thursday). My tumor (5cm x 5cm) has started, well, has come through to the outside of my cheek from the inside. I will be having a flapectomy (SP?) and neck dissection as they think it has gone into two lymph nodes but not sure as the tumor has blocked saliva glands and the perotid gland and cause infections over and over again, and is how I basically found out that I had cancer. The infection returned the day before yesterday but is slowly decreasing again. Thats why they are not sure if it is cancer in my lymph nodes or infection. I was told that I would be in the hospital 5 to 7 days, have a feeding tube, and a possible trach, depending upon the swelling. Post surgery they said I will be receiving 7 weeks of radiation - 5 days a week. They wont know about chemo until the lymph nodes are looked at. But just wanted to say HELLO to everyone and just wanted to kind of know what to expect, please.
Posted By: ChristineB Re: New here - 03-26-2011 02:16 AM
Hello Biskit, welcome to OCF. You will find lots of info here. Read all you can and you will learn so much about oral cancer. Are you being treated at a cancer center? If you are able to eat, try to do so now. During radiation, your sense of taste will change and eating will become difficult. If you need any help with the feeding tube, let me know. Best wishes with yoru surgery next week.
Posted By: ESikon Re: New here - 03-26-2011 04:00 AM
Welcome to OCF! I suggest eating as much as you can to prepare in case you have weight loss and also things may just not taste the same. If you are trached, have a dry erase board to help you communicate with people. I wish you the best with your upcoming surgery, feel free to ask any questions you may have!