Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
"OCF across the pond"
Gold Member (200+ posts)
"OCF across the pond"
Gold Member (200+ posts)

Oh, i am so glad i found other partners like me. My boyfriend is depressed as well, he slept throught the holidays, has no will to do anything and everything seems to be my fault. The thing is we have just moved house as well and it is like a building site. He is a builder by trade so redecorating would not normally be a problem, but he has no interest at all. I try and do what I can for all decoration works like filling holes, painting, sanding stripping wall paper, but to him I have done them wrong (I am not a builder, i am an accountant, how am I supposed to know!). I try cooking something nice but the food has too much salt... I try cuddles, cajoling, gentle persuation to go outside for some air... Nothing works. I spent the 10 days Xmas break trying to help (leavving enugh time to sleep, nap and rest), to no avail. He was just more and more grumpy and ignored me. I am now back at work, and I have never been so happy to be back at work after a holiday. I feel really guilty for feeling that way, but I sometimes feel like I need some meds, or a shrink. It's good to off load though.
I don't really know how to help either. Strangely enough he seems to have perked up since i returned to work. Maybe I was nagging, maybe he misses me during the day and is happy to see me again? I don't know. But i do hope he gets better soon.

Girlfriend to Martin 49 years old at diagnosis
Diagnosed with SCC unknown primary June 2008.
Cancer found in single node Stage N2A (3 to 6cm).
Tonsilectomy 16th june, Radical modified neck dissection left side 30th june.
30 TX radiotherapy ended 9th October
First comparative study scan came back clear
"OCF across the pond"
Gold Member (200+ posts)
"OCF across the pond"
Gold Member (200+ posts)

hi,

Sorry about my rant above.