Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
OCF Founder
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)
OCF Founder

We are all the architects of our own situation many times in life. If it was going to be an easy, cookie cutter trip through it all, we would never learn anything. Life is a journey... Not a guided tour. I can't count the number of bad decisions that I have made in my life, both moral and lifestyle. Now an old fart, I am starting to finally get some of it, but likely most the big picture will likely elude me until the end. You start out as a raw block of stone, and life chips away at you, finally revealing who you are. Were it not for those blows to chip away bits an pieces, what is inside would never be revealed. But while I am a big proponent of learning from mistakes... some never seem to... I am not a big proponent of beating yourself up for choices that you made in the past. It is an exercise in futility, assuming that you learned something and aren't going to do the same thing again. All that is left to us is to learn and move forward. Anything else, unless it is the sharing of that knowledge with others so they don't step in the same holes, is a waste of thought and effort.

There will always be people that think that we got into this because of our own bad decision making. Some of us did to deny that negates the ability to learn from it. But how does that change things today now that the damage is done? In no way that is productive.