Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
DebTx Offline OP
OP Offline

My husband's RT (IMRT, no chemo) will end in 1.5 weeks (9/6). I travel for my job (sometimes gone 3-4 nights a week) so I've taken a 4 week FMLA to get him through these final weeks of tx plus about 2 weeks thereafter.

Can anyone help me to know if it's enough?

I keep reading on the boards things that make me think his symptoms may get "worse" for a few weeks after treatment. Is that possible? When RT is over, will his symptoms worsen? Or will we start to see small improvements?

I know no one has a crystal ball, but if I'm going to extend my leave I need to let my boss know quickly (and it's my first year on the job and I'm worried about the impact of this request). We need this income, not to mention health insurance - I feel like I'm walking on a tightrope, I feel like I'm going to lose my mind - but that's for another topic.

Would appreciate any advice on progress (ability to live indepenently) during the immediate weeks following treatment.

Platinum Member (200+ posts)
Platinum Member (200+ posts)

Hi Debra,

We all respond diferently. I was able to getalong fine a few weeks after treatment even though I could not eat. How is he handling things now and how does he feel about being on his own. There are part and full time care-givers available that your insurance should cover. You might also try Caregiversa for Seniors. I'm not sure of your husbands age, but tehy may be able to provide some support.

Steve

SCC, base of tongue, 2 lymph nodes, stage 3/4. 35 X's IMRT radiation, chemo: Cisplatin x 2, 5FU x2, & Taxol x2. Hooray, after 3 years I'm in still in remission.
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)

Debra,