Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
#51031 12-14-2004 12:24 PM
ajc0076 Offline OP
OP Offline

I am new to this and would like to say hello to everyone and hope everyone is doing well!!
My whirlwind of events just started over Thanksgiving..And now he has been diagnosed with stage 4 oropharynx cancer(and I have been told it was SCC)(on his rt tonsil) and has made its way down into his lymph nodes in his neck that has caused an 8 cm mass. Unfortunately, yesterday they told us that it is inoperable..So now I am trying to prepare myself for the radiation and other therapy treatments..My dad is 54 and is in great health otherwise, but he has been a smoker for about 30 years, which I am sure brought all this on..
I am soo happy that I found this wonderful sight, and I am hoping that someone who has gone through this can lend some advice and what not....Sorry for rambling on, but my mind is going a mile a minute!! lol
Thanks for listening and any feedback is greatly appreciated

Amber
Pittsburgh,Pa

#51032 12-14-2004 01:00 PM
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)

Hi Amber,
don't give up hope yet! I was 55 when diagnosed with a stage III/IV right tonsil cancer. They considered it inoperable based on the complexity of the surgery and subsequent quality of life issues. I had radiation and chemo and 2 years later I am doing fine. Three weeks into radiation, the tumor had completely vanished. I didn't have any lymph node involvement and that will complicate things a little bit, but they can radiate them also. In my case they did as a precautionary measure, as well as radiate the left tonsil.

I haven't smoked for many years however - please encourage him to quit now. He really doesn't need any additional risk of recurrence after treatment.