Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#49419 04-04-2003 04:20 PM
"Above & Beyond" Member (500+ posts)
OP Offline

A buddy of mine is currently at M.D. Anderson, having had his esophagus removed after an endoscopy revealed a tumor. I went up there to visit him today and spent some time.
Before having cancer I probably wouldn't have gone and would not have known what to say if I had. I would probably have considered him a " dead man walking".
However now that I am an old cancer pro, I delighted in being there, bluntly discussed all the issues with my friend and joked around. When he wanted to take a walk around the hospital, I helped him unplug his IV stuff and even tied the gown on his hairy back and off we went, even cruising far away halls full of esoteric labs where his presence drew curious looks from the lab workers not used to seeing patients wandering so far.
So there you have it...having cancer put me in a position to understand what he is going through, to be nonplussed by the tube in his nose and the fact that he is sick, and hopefullly, to add a little good advice, hope and joy to his situation. It helped that he is a great guy who already has a wonderful attitude.

Danny G.

Stage IV Base of Tongue SCC
Diagnosed July 1, 2002, chemo and radiation treatments completed beginning of Sept/02.
#49420 04-04-2003 06:07 PM
Gold Member (100+ posts)
Gold Member (100+ posts)

Danny...... Your post brought a smile to my face; your friend is lucky to have someone who is knowledgeable and kind. Thanks for sharing the story. Sincerely, Donna

SCC first time 1989, with a diagnoses of 'cancer in situ' removed lesion, no other treatments.
SCC recurrence 1997 of tongue and floor of the mouth. Stage III /IV Hemmiglossectomy (removed over 60% of tongue/ floor of the mouth), free flap, modified neck, RAD and Chemo(cisplatin, 5fu) simutainously.
Cancer free 6, yes, six, years!
#49421 04-04-2003 06:53 PM
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)