Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#29329 09-07-2007 06:34 AM
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
OP Offline

Rich has had one episode of profuse bleeding from his mouth, but that was a vein. The Doctor said it could break though the artery at any time. He said if it does it will not stop. He said it could be 2 hours or 2 weeks. Hospice gave me valium IM to give him if it happens and instructed me to have dark towels on hand.
Rich just says its not going to happen. I call his kids and let them know. I just need some support. Again the doctor and the hospice nurses are talking like I should be able to handle this because I'm a nurse, Why can't they understand how different it is when its someone you love. I'm not ready for him to bleed to death!

"OCF across the pond"
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)
"OCF across the pond"

Dear Julie
i know you are aware that this is exactly the scenario Rob and i faced.when his neck broke open under his chin and across his larynx,you could actually see the artery with the naked eye.
Robs mucous was thick and choking and required vigourous coughing to expectorate.We knew that every time he coughed,the artery could rupture,and every where in the hospice we went we had to carry dark towels and an emergency buzzer.The staff said the end would be very swift for him but very traumatising for me if i was with him at the time.
The fear of dying from a ruptured artery,caused his first real problems, and he became very agitated and distressed,He was more than happy to die, but not in such a horrific way so he too was started on valium.This had very little effect,and as his agitation increased so did the risk.