Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline

I wish to start my first post by commending Brian, Christine, David, Cheryl, Gary and all supporting staff for such outstanding humanitarian efforts in the creation of the Oral Cancer Foundation.

Hello Everyone!, my name is John E. G***** (Johnny G),

I, like you, am a Cancer survivor. I am new to the organization and I join with multiple purposes. I am a 59 year old, son, sibling, father of three boys & grandpa to three adorable rascals. Thru the past (17) seventeen years, I have been involved in helping less fortunate, healthy lifestyles, triathlons, marathons, open water swims which helped me beat my cancer. It is my objective to obtain educational information that will help me grow and address inevitable challenges ahead and hopefully I will be able to share experiences and understandings that will help others survive and attain quality of life during the process of addressing the Cancer that has intruded and affected our lives. I was a pioneering CT Scan Radiology Technologist exposed to radiation. It was concluded by experts & Departmental Chairmen treating me from Florida that radiation exposure was the cause & origin of my Cancer.

1) MAY 2001 I was diagnosed Cancer of Unknown Primary "CUP". One lump in the right side of neck. Confirmed thru fine needle biopsy and CT scans .
Classification: T1-N2-M1 Squamous Cell Carcinoma manifested as one lymphoma tumor or mass stemming from right side of neck lymph nodes which rapidly grew to 2.0 cm and later considered a single metastatic lesion.
2) Subsequent work-up including blood &urine tests, diagnostic imaging studies, Bone scan, whole body CT & MRI could not find Primary site.
2) June 2001 I had a Radical Neck Dissection surgery done.
3) July To Sep 11, 2001 Bilateral Radiotherapy of neck completed at Sylvester Cancer Center done in Miami, Fla.