Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
"OCF Canuck"
OP Offline
"OCF Canuck"

Hello all,
My name is Mark.
I am new to all of this, do not have a caregiver though i will have some family/friend support.
I am meeting in the morning for the first time my CO and one hour later will meet my RO for my last pre-radiation appointment.
CYSPLATIN 3 TIMES /RAD-35/PEG-SURGERY TO REMOVE LYMPH NODE ONCE REDUCED
Feel very confident in the hospital and process but not sure what questions i should even be asking tomorrow .
Will be taping both discussions - i am by myself and seem to forget what is said.
It has already been very helpful reading a number of these posts today.
I have a lot to prepare for and am finally squarely facing this.
I am trying to stop thinking about all of the side effects and pain/discomfort and trying to simply take it a moment/day at a time.
Some days I win , some days i do not.
It has been a long 2 months , but it is time to beat THIS and reading these posts is helping me to prepare.
So long for now and thank you for being here.

base of tongue scc 11/02/13
stage 4 hpv16
necrotic lymph-left
CYSPLATIN 2x- unable to tolerate 3rd
RAD35=imrt completed feb 28-2014
70gy
peg -removed -april 2014
bot cancer -not visually evident
lymph node still slightly over sized 1.3 cm no surgery planned
wait for future scan results march2015
terrible digestion for months
inguinal hernia a result?
no appetite most days-
Administrator, Director of Patient Support Services
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)

Mark, welcome to OCF!

Write down your concerns and also the replies the doc gives. Take someone with you as an extra set of ears. Too often bad news will make the ears stop working and we will not hear anything else said.

If you have not gotten a full bloodwork done including thyroid and testosterone its important to get this done before you start treatments.