Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#17390 04-19-2005 10:41 PM
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)
OP Offline

Please forgive me as I have never used a message board before and have been searching the site to see how to start. I hope this is right. Today I am 2 weeks post surgery and doing extremely well. My eating is almost back to normal, however slow. I start physical therapy tomorrow for help with my left arm as a result of my neck dissection and lymph node removal. I consider myself to be very lucky as I am a dentist and discovered my scc at the earliest possible time. From biopsy (stage I, no nodes) to surgery, it was only 2.5 weeks. I spent 3 days in the hospital and and am progressing very rapidly. Other than off/on shooting pains in my ear and a pulling in my neck incision area, I am very comfortable. My new goal in life is to try to get the word out to the world about "early detection." I have already been in contact with The American Dental Asssoc. to see what I, as a dentist, can do with my recent experiences. I was amazed after speaking with a representatative, that I am the only dentist with scc that has contacted him in the 15 years that he has been there. Well, that is my story and I hope I am doing this correctly. I hope I will be able to find out if anyone has read and/or responded to this posting.

Jerry

Retired Dentist, 59 years old at diagnosis. SCC of the left lateral border of the tongue (Stage I). Partial glossectomy and 30 nodes removed, 4/6/05. Nodes all clear. No chemo no radiation 18 year survivor.

"Whatever doesn't kill me, makes me stronger"
#17391 04-19-2005 11:38 PM
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)

Hello Jerold, welcome to the site. Sorry that you have had to go through this but happy that you are progressing well.